Alaska Car Seat Laws

Alaska Car Seat Laws

  • In the State of Alaska all children under the age of one (1) or weighing less than twenty (20) pounds must be secured in a rear facing child restraint device.
  • Children one (1) through four (4) years of age that weigh more than twenty (20) pounds must be secured in a child restraint device.
  • Children four (4) through seven (7) years of age that are less than fifty-seven (57) inches tall, weighing between twenty (20) and sixty-five (65) pounds must be properly secured in a booster seat.
  • The Booster Seat must be secured by a seat belt system or another approved child passenger restraint system.
  • Children over the age of four (4) that are than fifty-seven (57) inches in height weighing sixty-five (65) pounds or more may be secured with a vehicle safety belt system.
  • Children eight (8) through fifteen (15) years of age that are than fifty-seven (57) inches in height weighing sixty-five (65) pounds or more must be secured with a vehicle safety belt system.
  • Child restraint devices must be used in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
  • Child restraint devices must meet the United States Department of Transportation’s safety standards.

Car Seat Recommendations

Car Seat Age, Weight and Height Recommendations


Alaska Seat Belt Laws

  • In the State of Alaska all passengers in a motor vehicle are required to wear safety belts.
  • The driver of the vehicle is responsible for making sure that passengers under the age of sixteen (16) are properly secured in the vehicle.
  • A driver may not transport a child under the age of sixteen (16) unless the driver has provided the required age appropriate restraint device.
  • A driver may be fined up to $50 and receive 2 points on their driver license for failing to properly restrain passengers under the age of sixteen (16)
  • Adult violations of the Alaska Seat Belt Law is a $15 fine.
  • Please use the Alaska Driver License Manual link below for the exceptions to this law.

Source Links for this Page

The Alaska Child Passenger Safety Partnership

The 2009 Alaska Booster Seat Law

Implementation of the Alaska Primary Seat Belt Law

The Alaska Driver License Manual