Georgia Car Seat Laws
- As of July 1, 2011 all children under the age of eight (8) must be secured in an approved age appropriate child car seat or booster seat while riding in a passenger car, vans and pickup trucks.
Car Seats and Booster Seats
- Must be in the back seat of the vehicle (See exceptions below).
- Must be appropriate for the child’s height and weight.
- Meet all federal standards.
- Must be installed per the manufacturer’s instructions.
Car Seat Recommendations
- Children under the age of one (1) should always be secured in a rear facing car seat or infant seat.
- Convertible car seats typically have higher height and weight limits for the rear facing position allowing you to keep your child in the rear facing position for a longer period of time.
- Keep your child in a rear facing seat up to the manufacturer’s recommended limit for height and weight.
- Always follow the manufacturer’s instructions for the installation and maintenance of a child safety seat.
- A child should stay in a rear facing car seat for as long as the manufacturer’s height or weight limits have not been reached.
- Between the ages of one (1) and three (3) your child may outgrow their rear facing car seat and be ready for a forward facing car seat with a harness.
- Children from four (4) to seven (7) years of age should be kept in a forward facing car seat until they reach the manufacturer’s top height or weight limit for the forward facing car seat.
- Once your child has reached the top weight limit for their seat they are ready for a booster seat.
- A child should be kept in a booster seat until they are big enough to properly fit into a seat belt.
- A lap belt should fit comfortably across the upper thigh, not the stomach.
- The shoulder portion of the belt should cross the shoulder and chest not the face or neck.
- The safest place for your child is the back seat of the vehicle.
Exceptions to the Georgia Car Seat Law
- Children that are under the age of eight (8) who are four-feet, nine inches (4’9”) tall.
- A written statement from a physician stating the physical or medical issues that prevent the child from using standard safety restraints.
- If the vehicle is not equipped with the lap and shoulder belt necessary to properly use a booster seat the child may use a lap belt only.
Georgia Car Seat Law Fines
- First (1st) Conviction – $50 Maximum
- Second (2nd) and future convictions – $100 Maximum
Georgia Car Seat Law Driver License Points
- First (1st) Conviction – 1 Point
- Second (2nd) and future convictions – 2 Points
Source Links for this Page