Hawaii Car Seat Laws
- In the State of Hawaii all children under the age of four (4) must ride in a child safety seat while traveling in a motor vehicle.
- Children from four (4) to seven (7) years of age must ride in a child safety seat or a booster seat while traveling in a motor vehicle.
- The fine for a violation of the Hawaii Car Seat Law is between $100 and $500.
Exemptions to the Hawaii Car Seat Law
- Children that are taller than four-feet, nine-inches (4’ 9”).
- Children that weigh more than eighty (80) pounds.
- The vehicle has lap-only belts in the back seat of the vehicle.
- *NOTE: Never use a booster seat with a lap-only seat belt.
Child Safety Seat Recommendations
- Children under the age of one (1) should always be placed in a rear facing car seat when travelling in a vehicle.
- If you use a Convertible or 3-in-1 car seat you may be able to keep the child rear-facing for a longer period of time since many of these seats often have higher weight and height limits.
- Infant-Only car seats are usually designed to be rear facing only therefore limiting the product usability.
- Again, the best way to keep a child safe is to keep them in a rear-facing car seat for as long as possible.
- Knowing the manufacturer’s height and weight limit of your rear-facing car seat will help you to determine if your child is ready to travel in a forward-facing car seat.
- This is the typical age range for children to ride in a forward-facing car seat with a harness.
- These seats should be placed in the back seat as well.
- Again it is important to understand the manufactures recommend height and weight limit and making the decision to place your child in booster seat.
- Children should remain in a booster seat in the back seat of the vehicle until they safely fit into a seat belt.
- This means the seat belt should fit across the upper thighs snug.
- In addition the shoulder belt should fit snug across the chest and shoulder and not across the face or neck.
- As a reminder it is still safer to keep your child riding in the rear seat.
Hawaii Seat Belt Laws
- In the State of Hawaii all front seat occupants and back seat passengers under the age of eighteen (18) must be restrained with a vehicle seat belt.
- Children from birth to eight (8) years of age must ride either in a child safety seat or a booster seat.
- The penalty for a violation of the Hawaii Seat Belt Law is a four (4) hour class and a fine between $100 and $500.
Source Links for this Page
Download - NHTSA – Four Step Flyer