Idaho Car Seat Laws
- In the State of Idaho all children six (6) years of age or younger must be properly secured in a child safety restraint that is federally approved.
- This applies to all noncommercial vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1966.
- If all seat belts in the vehicle are being used, the child must be place in the back seat of the vehicle if a back seat exists.
- An attendant may remove the child from the car safety restraint for purposes of nursing or attending to other immediate physiological needs.
- The fine for a violation of the Idaho Car Seat law is $60.
- Children under the age of one (1) must be placed in a rear facing infant seat with or without removable bases.
- Children from one (1) to four (4) years of age (typically twenty (20) to forty (40) pounds) can be placed in a forward facing car seat with harness straps that position on the child’s shoulders.
- Children four (4) to six (6) years of age must be placed in an approved booster seat using both a lap and shoulder belt combination in the back seat of the vehicle if a back seat exists.
Other Child Safety Seat Recommendations
- Never place a rear facing infant seat in the front seat of a vehicle with an active front passenger side airbag.
- Children under 13 years of age should never be placed in front of an airbag.
- It is always safest for children to ride in the back seat of the vehicle if one is available.
- In the State of Idaho all vehicle passengers are required to wear safety restraints
- Drivers and passengers cited for a violation of the Idaho Seat Belt Law may receive a $10 citation.
- An adult driver may be ticketed for passengers under the age of eighteen (18) that are not properly restrained.
- If the driver is under the age of eighteen (18) and the driver or any passenger under the age of eighteen (18) fail to wear a seat belt, the $10 ticket and court costs will total $51.50.
Source Links for this Page