The Child Passenger Protection Act
In the State of Illinois all children under the age of 8 must be secured in a child safety seat.
Included among the different types of child restraint systems are booster seats, rear facing infant seats or convertible car seats that may be forward or rear facing.
A child that weighs over forty (40) pounds may be placed in the rear seat of a motor vehicle using a seat belt without a shoulder restraint if the vehicle is not equipped with a lap and shoulder belt system.
Any child over eight (8) years of age and under the age of sixteen (16) must be properly restrained in any position in the vehicle.
Car Seat Laws Violations
A driver that is cited for a violation of the Illinois car seat law may receive a fine of seventy five ($75) dollars for a first offense.
The driver may also be required to provide proof that a child restraint system has been properly installed by a child safety seat technician and they may be required to complete an instructional course on the installation of this child restraint system.
Subsequent violations of the Illinois car seat law is a petty offense that comes with a two hundred ($200) mandatory fine.
Update to the Illinois Car Seat Law
Beginning January 1st 2012 all passengers regardless of age or location in the vehicle must be properly restrained in an approved child restraint system or secured with a seat belt.
A child with physical disabilities that may not be able to use standard safety seats may be exempt from the State of Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act if the disability is certified by a qualified physician.
Source Information for this Article – State of Illinois Website
Other Illinois Legal Information