Indiana DUI Penalties, Fines and Jail Time

Indiana DUI First Offense


The Penalties for a DUI First Offense in the State of Indiana is dependent on Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of the convicted driver.

1st DUI Conviction

BAC Between .08 and less than.15 (Class C Misdemeanor)

  • Fine – Up to $500
  • Jail – Up to 60 Days
  • License Suspension – Up to (2) two Years
  • Probation – Up to (2) two Years
  • Ignition Interlock Device – Possible
  • Court Fees – $300 Minimum
  • Become Subject to Drug and Alcohol Testing – Possible

1st DUI Conviction

 BAC .15 or Above (Class A Misdemeanor)

  • Fine – Up to $5,000
  • Jail – Up to 1 Year
  • License Suspension – Up to (2) two Years
  • Probation – Up to (2) two Years
  • Ignition Interlock Device – Possible
  • Court Fees – $300 Minimum
  • Become Subject to Drug and Alcohol Testing – Possible

Source Links for this Article

State of Indiana Website – DUI Laws

State of Indiana Website – Drunk Driving Laws