Iowa Car Seat Laws
- In the State of Iowa children under the age of one (1) and weighing under twenty (20) pounds must be restrained in a rear facing child seat.
- Children under the age of six (6) must be secured with a child restraint system such as a booster seat or a properly fitting child safety seat.
- Children from six (6) years of age up to the age of eleven (11) must be restrained with either a vehicle safety belt or a properly fitting child restraint system.
- A child restraint system includes a belt positioning booster seat or a belt positioning vehicle seat that meets federal motor vehicle safety standards.
Iowa Seat Belt Law
- In the State of Iowa all drivers and front seat passengers above six (6) years of age must use a vehicle safety belt.
- Children under the age of six (6) are covered by the Iowa Child Safety Seat Law.
Exceptions to the Iowa Seat Belt Law
- Vehicles built before 1966
- Bus Passengers
- Emergency Vehicle Front Seat Occupants Except the Driver
- Rural letter carriers while delivering mail
- A Medical Certificate stating the reasons why a safety belt cannot be used
- Vehicles in which the driver or passenger’s job involves getting in and out of a vehicle frequently and the vehicle does not travel over twenty-five (25) miles per hour.
Violations of Child Safety Seat Law and Safety Belt Law
Car Seat Law
- The fine for a violation of the Iowa Car Seat Law is $25 plus court costs and the driver is charged with a moving violation.
- The fine may be waived if the driver proves that they have acquired an adequate Child Safety Seat.
Safety Belt Law
- The fine for a violation of the Iowa Safety Belt Law is also $25 and will likely be $35 when the court cost fees are added.
Source Link for this Article