Maine Car Seat Laws
- In the State of Maine all children from birth to eight (8) years of age must be secured in an approved child safety system.
- Children under the age of one (1) and weighing less than twenty (20) pounds must be secured in a rear facing car seat.
- *Note: Never place a child in a rear facing car seat in the front seat of a vehicle with an active passenger side airbag.
- Children under the age of twelve (12) who weigh less than one-hundred (100) pounds must be secured in the back seat of a vehicle if possible.
- Children and Teens under the age of eighteen (18) and older than eight (8) years of age must be properly secured with a vehicle safety belt.
- Children under the age of eighteen (18) that are taller than four-feet, seven-inches (4’ 7”) must be properly secured with a vehicle safety belt.
Maine Car Seat Law Exemptions
- Passengers with a medically certified condition that does not allow the use of the equipment specified above.
- Rural postal carriers while they are delivering mail.
Fine for a Violation of the Maine Car Seat Law
- First Offense – $50
- Second Offense – $125
- Third and Subsequent Offenses – $250 (Cannot be suspended)
Maine Seat Belt Laws
- All occupants eight (8) years of age or older must be properly secured with a federally approved safety belt.
- The fine for not using a seat belt is the same as the above penalties for securing children.
Source Links for this Page