Massachusetts Car Seat Laws
- Children under the age of eight (8) and less than fifty-seven inches (57”) in height must be secured with a child passenger restraint that is installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
- All children from the age of five (5) to seven (7) years or until they reach four feet (4’), nine inches (9”) in height, must be secured with a child passenger restraint.
- All children ages eight (8) to twelve (12) must be secured with a safety belt when traveling in a motor vehicle.
Massachusetts Booster Seat Safety
- Car accidents are the leading cause of death for children between the ages of four (4) and eight (8), a properly fitted booster seat can reduce injury rates by nearly sixty (60) percent for children in that age group.
- After a child has grown out of their forward facing car seat, the child must be secured with an approved booster seat.
- When securing a booster seat the lap belt should fit comfortably on the hips and the shoulder belt should fit across the chest (not the neck).
- Booster seats should always be installed and maintained per the manufactures directions.
- If you require assistance with a child safety seat check or installation, you can find certified Child Passenger Safety technician by calling the Car Safe Line at 1-800-CAR-SAFE (1-800-227-7233) at the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.
Massachusetts Seat Belt Law
- All motor vehicle operators driving a passenger motor vehicle, a vanpool vehicle or a truck weighing less than 18,000 pounds must be secured with a properly fastened safety belt.
- Drivers will receive a fine of $25 if they are cited for not wearing a seat belt.
- Drivers will also receive a $25 fine for each passenger under the age of sixteen (16) that is not properly restrained.
Exceptions to the Massachusetts Seat Belt Laws
- Vehicles made before July 6th, 1966
- Children under the age of twelve (12) subject to the child passenger safety law
- Passengers with a certified medical reason for not wearing a safety belt
- Rural letter carriers and U.S. Postal Service vehicle while preforming duties
- Authorized emergency vehicle
- Drivers involved with taxis, liveries, tractors and trucks weighing 18,000 pounds and above.
Source Links for this Page
Other Massachusetts Laws