Montana Car Seat Laws
- In the State of Montana children under six (6) years of age weighing less than sixty (60) pounds must be secured with an approved child safety restraint.
- All drivers must be secured with a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt.
Car Seat Age, Weight and Height Recommendations
- From birth to twelve (12) months and twenty (20) pounds, use a rear facing infant seat or convertible rear facing seat.
- From twelve months and twenty (20) pounds to four (4) years and forty (40) pounds use a toddler car seat or a convertible car seat.
- From four (4) years and forty (40) pounds to eight (8) years and eighty (80) pounds use a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt system.
- For children over four-feet, nine-inches (4’ 9”) use a lap and shoulder belt system in the back seat of the vehicle.
Car Seat and Seat Belt Safety
- A lap and shoulder belt system fits properly when the lap belt is snug across hip and pelvic bones not on the stomach and the shoulder belt fits across the shoulders and chest not the face or neck.
- Never wear the shoulder strap under or behind the arm.
- Never place an infant in a rear facing car seat in the front seat of a vehicle with an active front passenger side airbag.
Montana Car Seat Law and Seat Belt Law Fines
- The fine for a violation of the Montana Car Seat Law is up to $100
- The fine for a violation of the Montana Seat Belt Law is $20
Source Links for this Page