Nevada Car Seat Laws
- In the State of Nevada all children under the age of six (6) who weigh less than sixty (60) pounds must be secured in an approved child restraint system.
- Child restraint systems must be installed in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions.
Car Seat Recommendations
- From birth to one (1) year of age and up to a minimum of twenty (20) pounds children should be secured in a rear facing infant seat in the back seat of the vehicle.
- Children should stay in a rear facing infant seat or convertible car seat until they reach the upper limit of the manufacturer’s recommended weight or height.
- For as long as possible and in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions, keep your child in a rear facing seat for as long as possible.
- After your child outgrows the rear facing infant seat, typically between one (1) and three (3) years of age they may be secured in a forward facing car seat with a harness.
- After your child has outgrown their forward facing car seat, typically between the ages of four (4) and seven (7) they can be moved into a booster seat.
- Children should stay in a booster seat in the back seat of the vehicle until the child is eight (8) years of age or reaches a height of four-feet, nine-inches (4’ 9”) tall.
- Safety belts can be used in the back seat of a vehicle for children that are eight (8) years of age or older or taller than four-feet, nine-inches (4’ 9”) tall.
Nevada Car Seat Law Violations and Fines
- First Offense: A fine from $100 up to $500
- Second Offense: A fine from $500 up to $1,000
- Third and Subsequent Offenses: Driver License Suspension from 30 to 180 Days
Nevada Seat Belt Laws
- Nevada State Law requires all front and rear seat passengers riding in a passenger vehicle to be restrained with either safety belts or an age appropriate child restraint system.
Source Links for this Page