- In the State of New York all passengers under the age of sixteen (16) must wear a seat belt or an appropriate child restraint system.
- Children under the age of four (4) must be restrained in a federally approved child safety seat.
- Children under the age of four (4) that weigh more than forty (40) pounds may be secured in a booster seat used in conjunction with a lap and shoulder belt.
- Children ages four (4) through seven (7) must be restrained in a booster seat in combination with a lap and shoulder belt or a child safety seat.
- Child restraint systems must only be used in accordance with the manufactures recommendations for height and weight.
- Child restraint systems are recommended for children weighing less than one-hundred (100) pounds or under four (4) feet nine (9) inches in height.
- Child restraint systems should be used in the back seat of the vehicle.
Exceptions to the New York State Car Seat Law
- Taxis or emergency vehicles
- Vehicles built before 1964
- Buses other than school buses
- Rural letter carriers while delivering mail
- Children weighing more than one-hundred (100) pounds or over four (4) feet nine (9) inches in height should be restrained with a lap and shoulder belt combination.
- A written certified medical condition that inhibits the use of a safety restraint system.
Fine for a violation of the New York Car Seat or Seatbelt Law
- The fine for a violation of the New York State Car Seat Law is $50.
- The driver may be fined from $25 to $100 for each restraint violation of children under the age of 16.
- All drivers and front seat passengers must wear a seat belt.
- It is illegal to buckle more than one person with a single seat belt.
- If the driver is the holder of a Class DJ Learner Permit, a limited Class DJ, or a Class DJ driver license all passengers regardless of seating position must wear a safety restraint.
Source Link for this Page
Other New York Information