- In the State of Oregon all children under the age of eight (8) or under four (4) feet, nine (9) inches in height must be secured in a child safety seat or a booster seat.
- The booster seat requirement does not apply if the vehicle is not equipped with a lap and shoulder belt system as long as the child is secured with the lap belt.
- From birth to one (1) year of age, infants must be secured in a rear facing child safety seat until they are twenty (20) pounds and one (1) year of age.
- All children over one (1) year of age, weighing between twenty (20) and forty (40) pounds must be secured with a forward facing child safety seat up to forty (40) pounds or the limit of the child safety seat.
- Children over eight (8) years of age or over four (4) feet, nine (9) inches in height must be properly restrained with a safety belt system.
Fines for Violation of the Oregon Car Seat Law
- Failing to use child restraints or safety belts is a class D traffic infraction that will bring a fine of $142.
- Allowing children to ride in the open bed of a pickup truck is a class B traffic infraction that will bring a fine of $242
- Children should ride in a rear facing child safety seat until they reach the manufacturers upper height or weight limit of the seat.
- Always follow the manufactures instructions for installation and maintenance of child safety seats and booster seats.
- All children under the age of 13 should ride in the back seat of the vehicle.
- Never place a rear facing child safety seat in the front seat of a vehicle with an active front airbag.
Source Links for this Page