Vermont Car Seat Laws

Vermont Car Seat Laws

  • In the State of Vermont all passengers under the age of eighteen (18) must be restrained with a federally approved child passenger restraint system or safety belt system.
  • Children under the age of one (1) and all children weighing under twenty (20) pounds must be secured in a rear facing position in a federally approved child passenger restraining system.
  • The rear facing child passenger restraining system (Rear Facing Infant Car Seat or Rear Facing Convertible Car Seat etc…) may not be installed in front of an active vehicle air bag.
  • Children one (1) through seven (7) years of age that weighs over twenty (20) pounds must be secured with a child passenger restraining system (Such as a Child Safety Seat).
  • Children eight (8) through seventeen (17) years of age must be secured with a safety belt system or a child passenger restraining system (Such as a booster seat).

Car Seat Recommendations

Car Seat Age, Weight and Height Recommendations


Vermont Seat Belt Laws

  • In the State of Vermont all occupants of a vehicle eighteen (18) years of age and above are required to wear safety belts in all seating positions in the vehicle.

Exceptions to the Vermont Seat Belt Law

  • Farm tractors.
  • Persons occupying buses or taxis
  • Emergency vehicles when necessary.
  • The vehicle was not manufactured with seat belts.
  • Persons properly secured with Child Restraint Systems
  • United States Postal Service rural mail carriers while performing their duties.
  • Persons ordered by a law enforcement authority to evacuate persons from a stricken area.

Vermont Seat Belt Law Violation Fines

  • First Offense – $25
  • Second Offense – $ 50
  • Third and subsequent Offenses – $100

Source Links for this Page

Norwich, Vermont Police Department

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles

Vermont Transportation Safety