Washington DC Car Seat Laws
- In Washington DC all children under the age of sixteen (16) must be secured with a child safety seat or a seat belt.
- Children under the age of eight (8) must be properly restrained in an infant seat, convertible car seat or booster seat.
- Child safety seats must be installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
- Booster seats must be used with a lap and shoulder belt combination.
- The Washington DC Car Seat Law is a primary offense, meaning a driver may be detained if an officer of the law suspects a violation of this law.
Car Seat Recommendations
DC Child Restraint Law Penalties
- First Offense – $75 Fine or taking a $25 Child Restraint Safety Class
- Second Offense – $75 Fine and taking a $25 Child Restraint Safety Class
- Third Offense – $125 Fine
- Fourth and Subsequent Offenses – $150 Fine
Washington DC Seat Belt Law
- All drivers and passengers in any seating position must be properly secured with a vehicle safety belt or a child safety restraint.
- Washington DC Seat Belt Law Fines and Penalties
- The fine and penalty for a violation of the Washington DC Seat Belt Law is $50 plus two (2) points on the driver license.
Source Links for this Page