Wyoming Car Seat Laws
- In the State of Wyoming all children under the age of nine (9) must be secured in a restraint that meet federal standards for child restraint systems (Infant Seats, Convertible Car Seats, Booster Seats).
- Children must be secured in a seat other than the front seat unless all safety belts are in use by other child passengers or if the vehicle has only a front seat.
- *Note: Never install a rear facing infant seat in the front seat of a vehicle with an active passenger side airbag.
- The child safety seat must be installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
- This law applies to all privately owned, leased or rented noncommercial passenger vehicles.
Wyoming Car Seat Law Penalties
- First Offense – $60 (May be waived with proof of acquisition)
- Second Offense – $110 and all Subsequent Offenses
Car Seat Recommendations
Wyoming Seat Belt Laws
- In the State of Wyoming all occupants of a vehicle must have a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt or child safety restraint.
- The drive of a vehicle is responsible for assuring all passengers under the age of twelve (12) are properly secured in the vehicle.
- The driver may be fined up to $25 for a seat belt violation.
- Unbuckled passengers may be fined up to $10 for a seat belt violation.
Exceptions to the Wyoming Seat Belt Law
- Vehicles that were not manufactured with safety belts.
- Passenger vehicles manufactured prior to model year 1967
- Vans and Trucks manufactured before model year 1972.
- Children properly secured in accordance with the Wyoming Car Seat Law
Source Links for this Page